MBDance October 2012: SummerStage Video

MBDANCE FOOTAGE FROM SUMMERSTAGE

This summer in New York, we were thrilled to premiere Stand at SummerStage, and to share 50 Ways to Say…

Did you miss it, or want to relive the piece? Take a look at excerpts from Stand on our Vimeo page:

REVIEW OF ANY RESEMBLANCE

Maria Bauman is collaborating with Jen Abrams on Abrams’s latest creation. They just finished preview performances of a section that will be part of the run at New York’s La MaMa Experimental Theater in the summer of 2013. A multimedia work with video installation by Matt Tennie, Any Resemblance is centered on an interracial couple’s quest to have a baby.

(Bauman) wriggles between Abrams’ pregnant belly and the countertop without touching either and tenderly wraps her arms around Abrams’ middle. This moment is so intimate and revealing it need not be translated in words.” Read the rest of the Dance Enthusiast review HERE

Any Resemblance

HOW DO YOU SWEAT YOUR TRUTH?

Merriam-Webster says “Sweat: to labor or exert oneself so as to cause perspiration,” and the Urban Dictionary says “Sweat: to like or adore. to copy or imitate.” We say yes to all of it! We dance to put our own truths on stage, to exert our manifestations of self through our bodies.

MBDance supporters are doing the same. Sweat Your Truth!

Alice Sheppard, photo by Britten Traughber

Alice Sheppard
How am I sweating my truth? By tackling disability, ugliness, beauty, strength and the common conceptions of a dancing body. I’m working to find beauty in the excesses that represent failure.

 

Dominic Bradley
I took the plunge in late August and signed up for Maria’s 4-day contemporary dance workshop. I was excited but also nervous because it was the first of its kind that I had attempted.  I also found myself contending with that niggling voice inside that said because I had a bigger body I couldn’t be a dancer. I came to each day of the workshop terrified but game. Learning “Stand” as part of the repertory section was revelatory. I live with bipolar disorder, and it has long been my dream to develop highly physical performance work on the subject of mental illness. Maria definitely showed me the way forward…I look forward to more opportunities to work with Maria and to expand my body of work to include more dance/movement. www.dommebomb.com

Click “Contact Us” on the MBDance website to share how YOU sweat your truth. 

JUST FOR ARTISTS & ARTS ADMINISTRATORS–UNDERSTANDING & UNDOING RACISM TRAINING

We’ll be there; join us!


www.MBDance.org

Leave a Reply

